The Princess and the Frog

Oh, Disney. I remember you so fondly, in so many ways, especially your 2D animation. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy CGI and the more 3D push they have these days, but there are times I genuinely miss the good old animated days where it was downright badass to watch Aladdin fly on the magic carpet or the stampede in The Lion King. I should watch that movie again. These are classics, and make up a great deal of my childhood dreams and the first scatterings of my artistic dreams of writing. That’s why at seven I could imagine cutesy little animal sidekicks talking to my characters in short stories. I have my issues with some of the things Disney teaches us, but I can’t help feeling a little nostalgic warmth toward it for some of my better memories as a kid.

That being said, this is the new piece of crap – I mean epic – 2D animation adventure they have coming out. I want to like this movie because I prefer to like movies, but instead I find myself sneering at the entire premise and the trailer. After Home on the Range they said they’d be done with 2D, probably because of how horrendous the film was, and then … okay fine. The Princess and the Frog is based on the famous fairy tale about the Frog Prince. He manages to persuade a princess into kissing him and an evil spell is broken, voila, he’s a prince again and they marry and live happily ever after. The movie introduces a new Princess,  Tiana, who lives in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Prince Naveen is made into a frog by a voodoo magic user, and he asks waitress Tiana to kiss him. Instead kissing him turns her into a frog (don’t you hate when that happens?) and they have to find the voodoo priestess of the Bayou to break the curse. They’ll probably find out that inner beauty is more important and that they love one another and would rather stay frogs together than lose their love. I bet they have lovable sidekicks, ooo, a trumpet-playing alligator and a firefly. Voila.

This is already the subject of some controversy since they named her Maddy originally which apparently felt like a lower-class ‘slave name’ to some people. I feel bad for anyone named Madeline after they hear that. They also didn’t like she was originally a maid, because Disney has never had servants become royalty be — oh wait! Cinderella and Snow White. This is obviously a race thing though.

Good luck, Disney. Looks like you’re going to need it.

One thought on “The Princess and the Frog

  1. As much as I’d like to hope for Disney’s change in attitude towards how they portray women and race, I don’t think I should get my hopes up. Yeah I think it’s great that they’ve finally decided to make a film starring a black princess, but I am very skeptical about how this will play out considering Disney’s history.

    I didn’t know about originally calling the Princess “Maddy.” Interesting.

Leave a Reply

